University of Delaware College of Education and Human Development
Department of Human Development & Family Studies
Delaware Department of Education
Delaware Office of Early Learning
Delaware Institute for Excellence in Early Childhood


In Delaware Stars, standards define one part of the quality rating.  The standards are based on a framework that supports best and developmentally appropriate practices in the classroom and across a child care program in four areas: Learning Environment and Curriculum, Family and Community Partnerships, Management and Administration, and Professional Development and Qualifications.  These standards go above and beyond what the Office of Child Care Licensing (OCCL) requires programs to maintain and are organized by program type.

The design of Delaware Stars is flexible so that it meets the needs of each individual program while guiding program development in each of the four areas.  It is also strengths-based so programs can build on the strengths they already have and work toward building quality in more challenging areas of practice as they move up the Star Levels.  The standards are verified by thorough document review and points are accumulated to designate at Star Levels three through five.

2014 Revised Stars Standards

Early Child Care Programs (ECE)
Family Child Care Providers  (FCC)
Large Family Child Care Providers (LFCC)
School-Age Only Standards July 1, 2015 (SA)

Tabla de Resume de Cambios para el 2014 (FCC)

Estándares para centros grandes de cuidado de niños en el hogar (LFCC)

Thank you for visiting the Delaware Stars for Early Success website. Delaware Stars is a program funded and administered by Delaware Department of Education, managed by the Delaware Institute for Excellence in Early Childhood (DIEEC) in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies.